(512) 476-4626

Class B Misdemeanors

If you’re charged with a crime, you will either be facing a misdemeanor or a felony. Misdemeanors tend to be less serious in nature than felonies. However, don’t be fooled into thinking a misdemeanor charge isn’t a big deal. If convicted, you could face expensive fines and even jail time.

All misdemeanors are separated by three classes. A class B misdemeanor is the second highest misdemeanor offense, right below a class A misdemeanor. If you or someone you know has been charged with a class B misdemeanor, it’s imperative that you contact a skilled criminal defense attorney.

Attorney for Class B Misdemeanor in Austin, TX

Class B misdemeanors can result in up to 180 days in state or county jail. Don’t hesitate when it comes to your freedom. Make the right decision by gaining legal representation.  If you or someone you know has been charged with a class B misdemeanor offense, it’s crucial you contact Kevin Bennett today.

Kevin Bennett is a seasoned attorney with a strong focus in criminal defense. He will go to battle for your rights in court. Additionally, Kevin Bennett is compassionate with all his clients. He attends to each case personally, so his clients have his undivided attention. Contact Kevin Bennett at (512) 476-4626 for a free consultation today.

The Law Office of Kevin Bennett represents people accused of a class B misdemeanor around the Travis County area including Pflugerville, Lakeway, Del Valle, Sunset Valley, Austin and Rollingwood.

Overview of Class B Misdemeanors in Texas


Penalties for a Class B Misdemeanor

Texas categorizes offenses into two different types; a misdemeanor or felony. Misdemeanors are divided into three classes based on the seriousness of the offense. Your penalties can be enhanced if aggravating factors were present during the crime.

Texas Penal Code § 12.21 states that a class B misdemeanor is punishable by:

  • Maximum jail sentence of up to 180 days;
  • A possible fine of up to $2,000; OR
  • A combination of the fine and jail sentence.

Examples of a Class B Misdemeanor in Texas

The penalties associated with a class B misdemeanor are serious. The judge may sentence you to jail for up to 180 days. In addition, you’ll have to struggle with the issues of having a criminal record. This is why it’s important that you contact an experienced criminal defense attorney. A skilled attorney can evaluate your case to uncover the best legal option for you.

Listed below are some examples of a class B misdemeanor.

  • First DWI offense;
  • Prostitution;
  • Silent or prank calling 911;
  • Rioting;
  • Harassment;
  • Making a terror threat;
  • Using a fraudulent degree;
  • Possessing 2 ounces or less of cannabis;
  • Indecent exposure; or
  • Intentionally lying to the police.

Penalties for Repeat and Habitual Misdemeanor Offenders

If you commit multiple misdemeanor offenses, you may be labeled as a repeat and habitual misdemeanor offender. Texas established laws to discourage people from repeatedly committing crimes. Texas law states that if you are on trial for a class A misdemeanor and have been convicted of a class A misdemeanor or any felony, your penalty will be:

  • Minimum jail sentence of 90 days;
  • Maximum jail sentence of 12 months;
  • A possible fine of up to $4,000; OR
  • Both the fine and confinement.

Texas Penal Code § 12.43 states that if you are on trial for a class B misdemeanor and have a prior class A or B misdemeanor, your penalty will be:

  • Minimum jail sentence of 30 days;
  • Maximum jail sentence of 180 days;
  • A possible fine of up to $2,000; OR
  • Both the jail sentence and fine combined.

If you are on trial for a Class C misdemeanor for disorderly conduct or public intoxication and have been convicted of either offense three times within 24 months, your penalty will be:

  • Jail sentence of up to 180 days;
  • A possible fine of up to $2,000; and
  • Both the jail sentence and fine combined.

Hate Crime Enhancement in Austin, Texas

Hate crimes in Texas have enhanced penalties. Texas Penal Code § 12.47 states your offense will be reclassified up one degree if the crime was committed because of bias or prejudice. So, if you’re charged with a class B misdemeanor and it’s a hate crime, then your offense will be reclassified to a class A misdemeanor.

A class A misdemeanor is punishable by:

  • Up to 12 months in jail; and
  • A possible fine of up to $4,000.

A hate crime is when an offender commits an offense solely because of their bias or prejudice about one or more of the following:

  • Gender;
  • Race;
  • Ethnicity;
  • Sexual Orientation;
  • Religion; and
  • Age

Additional Resources

Texas Sentencing Laws – Visit the official website for Texas state laws and legislation to learn more about statutory penalties. Access the statutes to learn more about misdemeanors, felonies, and possible enhancements.

Texas Criminal Justice Process – Visit a document provided by the State Bar of Texas, the Criminal Justice Section. Access the citizen’s guide to the Texas criminal justice process to learn more about statutory penalties, bail and bond, the trial process and more.


Lawyer for Class B Misdemeanor in Travis County, Texas

If you or someone you know has been charged with a class B misdemeanor, it’s imperative that you contact an experienced criminal defense attorney. An attorney can evaluate your charges to discover the best possible legal option for you.

Contact Kevin Bennett for a practiced criminal defense attorney. He has years of knowledge from representing clients charged with misdemeanors or felonies. Not only will he represent you, but Kevin Bennett will ensure to inform you through every phase of the criminal process.

Call Kevin Bennett today for a free consultation at (512) 476-4626. The Law Office of Kevin Bennett accepts clients throughout the greater Austin area including Rollingwood, Pflugerville, Lago Vista and Lakeway.


This article was last updated on February 1st, 2019.

CLIENT TESTIMONIALS