In Texas, offenses involving alcohol and intoxication are taken very seriously. Depending on the circumstances surrounding the alleged offense, alcohol related offenses can carry a wide range of punishments from probation to lengthy prison sentences. If you are charged with an alcohol related offense, it is critical that you act quickly by contacting an experienced criminal defense lawyer in Austin, who can inform you of your legal options.
Defense Attorney for Alcohol Related Offenses in Travis County
Taking your charges seriously from the start can greatly impact your case in the future. If you have been charged with an alcohol related crime in Travis County, Sunset Valley, Austin, West Lake Hills, Pflugerville, Lago Vista, or the surrounding areas in Texas, contact Kevin Bennett of The Law Office of Kevin Bennett immediately.
As a dedicated Austin criminal defense lawyer serving Travis County and the areas nearby, Kevin Bennett will provide aggressive and thorough legal counsel to those who are facing alcohol related offenses. Contact him today a (512) 476-4626 to set it your free consultation.
Information Center for Alcohol Related Crimes in Texas
- Driving While Intoxicated in Austin
- Underage Drinking Lawyer in Austin
- Minor in Possession Charges in Austin under § 106.05 of the Tex. Alcoholic Bev. Code
- Minor in Consumption Laws in Travis County
- Public Intoxication in Austin Defined by Texas Penal Code § 49.02
- What Will Happen If I Give Alcohol to a Minor?
An individual can be charged with DWI if he or she is intoxicated while operating a motor vehicle in public. An individual is considered intoxicated if he or she loses normal control of mental or physical faculties after consuming a controlled substance or alcohol. Intoxication is also classified as having a blood alcohol concentration level of .08 or higher.
If this is the defendant’s first offense, he or she will be charged with a Class B misdemeanor, which carries a jail sentence of between 72 hours and 180 days in jail, and/or up to a $2000 fine. Individuals who are convicted of this offense can also lose their driving privileges for up to a year.
Among college students and young adults, alcohol is the probably the single leading factor in criminal arrests. On campus and at parties throughout the Austin area, consuming alcohol, driving while intoxicated, and providing alcohol to minors under the age of twenty-one often lead to serious criminal consequences. Although many parties and other group functions revolve around alcohol, the Texas law doesn’t excuse you from responsibility.
If you have been charged with a crime involving alcohol, or if you are the parent of a college or high school student charged with a crime, your first priority should be to get dedicated legal representation.
As an Austin alcohol offense lawyer serving Austin and Travis County, I provide aggressive and thorough legal counsel to those who are facing these types of offenses.
According to section 106.05 of the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code, anyone under the age of 21 who possess an alcoholic beverage, is guilty of minor in possession (MIP). For a minor to legally possess an alcoholic beverage, it must be done in the scope of employment that does not violate section 106.05 of this code. A minor can also possess an alcoholic beverage if he or she is in the visible presence of a parent, spouse, or guardian.
A MIP is considered a Class C misdemeanor which carries a potential fine of up to $500. Individuals convicted of this offense will also have to perform eight to 12 hours of community service. However, if an individual has been previously convicted of this offense two or more times, he or she can face up to 180 days in jail, and/or a fine between $250 and $2,000, as well as a potential license suspension.
Under Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code § 106.04, it is illegal for an individual who is less than 21 years old to consume an alcoholic beverage, unless the beverage is consumed in the visible presence of the minor’s adult parent, guardian, or spouse.
This offense is classified as a Class C misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to a $500 fine as well as between eight to 12 hours of community service. If the offender has two or more prior convictions, he or she can be ordered to pay a fine between $250 and $2,000, and/or be sentenced to up to 180 days in jail.
Public intoxication (PI) is defined as appearing in a public place while intoxicated to the point where you may endanger yourself, or someone else. In Texas, public intoxication is a Class C misdemeanor, which is punishable by a fine not to exceed $500. If the offense is committed by a minor, the minor will be punished under the same terms as a MIP.
A PI is often considered a minor offense, but it will stay on your record. It’s best to have the assistance of an Austin criminal defense attorney to fight the charges.
According to Section 106.06 of the Texas Alcohol and Beverage Code, an individual is guilty of a crime if he or she purchases, provides, or gives an alcoholic beverage to a minor that he or she is not the parent, spouse, or legal guardian of. This offense is considered a Class A misdemeanor, and is punishable by up to a year in jail, and/or a fine of up to $4,000.
Quality Defense for Clients Facing Alcohol Related Offenses in Austin
Contact Kevin Bennett today to discuss the details surrounding your alcohol related offense. The Law Office of Kevin Bennett proudly serve clients in Sunset Valley, Austin, Travis County, Rollingwood, Pflugerville, Lago Vista, Lakeway and the surrounding areas, who are in need of quality legal representation.
If you are facing charges that stem from the consumption or possession of alcohol, call Kevin Bennett today at (512) 476-4626 so that The Law Office of Kevin Bennett can get a leg up on the prosecution, and begin reviewing your case as quickly as possible.