(512) 476-4626

 

Penalty for Possession of Cocaine in Texas

If you have been arrested or charged with possession of a controlled substance or possession of cocaine in Texas, you are probably wondering what penalties or punishment you face if convicted.

The penalty for possession of cocaine in Texas can depend on various factors such as the amount of cocaine or whether the drug was found, for example, in a drug-free zone such as a school or near a public park or playground. However, because Cocaine is classified under Penalty Group 1 of the Texas Health and Safety Code, possession of even the smallest amount of cocaine is considered a state jail felony in Texas. The punishment range for a state jail felony is 180 to 2 years in state jail and/or a fine not to exceed $10,000.

There are also collateral consequences for a cocaine conviction such as the suspension of your Texas Driver’s License, the inability to own or possess a firearm, the inability to vote, difficulty in leasing an apartment or obtaining a home loan, possible disqualification from student loans and the stigma of a felony conviction on your criminal record.

Possession of Cocaine Defense Attorney

If you are confused or unsure how to proceed in your cocaine possession or controlled substance case, please call the Law Office of Kevin Bennett at (512) 476-4626. You may also contact the Law Office of Kevin Bennett through email.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The Law Office of Kevin Bennett