Penalties for Possession of a Controlled Substance in Texas

If you have been arrested or charged with possession of a controlled substance in Texas, you are probably worried about the penalties or punishment you face if convicted. The penalties for possession of a controlled substance in Texas can have severe consequences to your career, family, finances and future. Under Texas law, a conviction for possession of a controlled substance  (POCS) can carry jail time, large fines, suspension of your driver’s license and can leave you with a permanent criminal record. If you have been arrested or charged with POCS or any drug  possession crime, you should contact The Law Office of Kevin Bennett for a free legal consultation.

Controlled Substances Under The Texas Health and Safety Code

The penalty you face for possession of a controlled substance can depend on various factors such as the type of controlled substance, amount of the controlled substance or or where the controlled substance was found, for example, in a drug-free zone such as a school or near a public park or playground. In Texas, various substances or drugs are divided and classified into different control groups under the Texas Health and Safety Code. Depending on the type of controlled substance, possession of even the smallest amount could be considered a state jail felony in Texas. The punishment range for a state jail felony is 180 days to 2 years in state jail and/or a fine not to exceed $10,000.

Additional Consequences for Possession of a Controlled Substance

There are also additional consequences for a conviction for possessing a controlled substance or any other type of drug conviction. A conviction for possession of a controlled substance or for any drug charge can lead to a driver’s license suspension, difficulty in finding a job, possible disqualification from student loans, and trouble getting an apartment or home loan.  If you are convicted of a felony controlled substance charge, you can lose your right to vote as well as your right to own or possess a firearm. These are just some of the additional consequences that stem from a conviction for possession of a controlled substance in Texas.

Austin Possession of a Controlled Substance Lawyer

If you are facing a possession of a controlled substance charge, you need to seek legal counsel immediately. The last thing you want on your permanent criminal record is a felony or misdemeanor drug charge. If you are confused or unsure how to proceed, please call the Law Office of Kevin Bennett at (512) 476-4626. You may also contact the Law Office of Kevin Bennett through email.